August 15, 2019

Week 10 – Who’s in, Who’s out

Here’s a look at the lineup changes for Friday night’s CNE game against Edmonton. Again, once the game begins there will be numerous substitutions.

McLeod Bethel-Thompson once again gets the start at QB. Coming off a 343-yard, 3 TD, 0 INT performance against Winnipeg, M B-T will look to lead the Argos to their second-consecutive win. He’ll be backed up by Dakota Prukop and Mike O’Connor.

Brandon Burks will again be the starting running back. James Wilder Jr. returns to the lineup after missing the last two games, while Chris Rainey completes a dangerous trio of backs. Regis Cibasu will be the fullback/tight end.

The receiving corps remains intact from the win over Winnipeg. S.J. Green is coming off a 10-catch, 120-yard performance against the Blue Bombers, highlighted by his game-winning touchdown catch with just 10 seconds left in the fourth quarter. Derel Walker, Armanti Edwards, Rodney Smith and Jimmy Ralph are the other starters. Kurleigh Gittens Jr., Alex Charette and Kimi Linnainmaa will also dress.

There’s one change on the offensive line. Ryan Bomben will dress, but is listed as a backup behind Will Campbell, who slides over to right guard from right tackle. Jamal Campbell, who caught a TD pass as a tight end vs. Winnipeg gets the start at right tackle. The rest of the line is intact with Isiah Cage at left tackle, Tyler Holmes at left guard and Sean McEwen at centre.

There are a couple of moves on the defensive line. Tackle Cleyon  Laing has been moved to the six -game injured list, but remember that doesn’t mean he’ll be out for six games. This is a precautionary move. This season both Ryan Bomben and Ian Wild have come off the six-game list early after missing one and two games respectively. With Laing out, Jhaustin Thomas will make his first CFL start alongside Ken Bishop at tackle. They’ll be backed up by Linden Gaydosh and Jeff Finley, who is back from injury and will get into the lineup for the first time this season. Rookie Robbie Smith, the ninth-overall pick in this year’s CFL Draft out of Laurier, will start at one end across from Freddie Bishop III. Frank Beltre and Tobi Antigha are also on the roster.

There’s been a shuffling of the deck at linebacker. Ian Wild moves from the weak side to the middle, while Justin Herdman-Reed gets the start at WILL. Micah Awe moves to a back-up role with Nelkas Kwemo, Nakas Onyeka and Sean Harrington. Jermaine Gabriel returns to the lineup after being injured in the season opener. He’ll play the strong-side linebacker spot.

Also returning to the lineup is last year’s Most Outstanding Rookie, as Trumaine Washington will play one cornerback spot with Jonathan Dowling on the other side. Qudarius Ford moves from the SAM linebacker to a halfback spot along with Abdul Kanneh. Alden Darby Jr. is the starting safety. Matt Boateng and Robert Woodson are the backups in the secondary.

Two players return on special teams after being injured in the season opener, with Ronnie Pfeffer back to do the punting, while Jake Renhart returns as the long snapper. Tyler Crapigna is the placekicker.